Skip to main content

Meet Our Chief Residents

UC San Diego's Department of Pediatrics has two Chief Residents for the 2023-2024 academic year – Drs. Mandeep Bajwa, Isabella Hanulik, and Caitlin Toney!

The chief resident year is an additional year dedicated to working with the administration and the residents to improve the program, resident education, and resident well-being.


Mandeep Bajwa, MD

Hometown: Yuba City, CA
Undergraduate: UC San Diego
Medical School: UC San Diego
Future Plans: GI Fellowship

Isabella Hanulik, MD

Isabella Hanulik, MD

Hometown: Studio City, CA
Undergraduate: UCLA
Medical School: Drexel
Future Plans: Primary Care


Caitlin Toney, MD

Hometown: Burlingame, CA
Undergraduate: Stanford
Medical School: UC San Diego
Future Plans: PHM Fellowship, MedEd, Mom!