Skip to main content

Honors / Commendations

Year Accolade
1974 “Most Creative Lecturer” from UCLA Dental Class of 1977
1974-1978 George Frankel Memorial Research Scholar Award
1977-1982 USPHS-NIH Research Career Development Award #AM 00324
1983 Kit Taylor Memorial Lecture, University of Rochester School of Medicine
1983 Resolution of Appreciation, Cystic Fibrosis Research Center
1984 Honorary Lecture Tour, Australian Cystic Fibrosis Association
1986 First Annual Lecturer,Holsclaw Chair in Genetics, University of Arizona, Tucson
1987 First Annual Doris Tulcin Cystic Fibrosis Research Award
1989 “Cystic Fibrosis: The Challenge in Fluid Transport”, Annual Lecture, Sigma XI
1989 “Investigator ad honorem”, National Institute of Medical Genetics of Argentina
1991 Honorary Lecturer, Bennett Graduate Research Society, Ohio State University College of Medicine
1991 The Paul di Sant’Agnese Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
1994 Second Joseph Levy Memorial Award, International Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Paris
1998 Nancy Olmsted Chair in Pediatric Pulmonary Medicine, University of California, San Diego
2000 Inducted Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
2000 “Outstanding Contributions Award” Citizens University Committee, University of California, Riverside
2001 “Certificate of Recognition”, California State Assembly, January 26
2003 “Health Hero of the Year”, Combined Health Agencies of San Diego County, April 25
2003 “Paul Quinton Reading Room”, Hospital de los Niños, La Plata, Argentina
2007 “Professional of the Year”, Cystic Fibrosis Research, Inc.
​2009 ​"Hero of Hope" Award, Genetec Corporation 
​2010 ​Hans H. Ussing Lecture Award, American Physiological Society 
​2010 ​Cover Page Photo, "Cystic Fibrosis - a micromolecular sticky problem", Physiology News
​2011 Rady Children's Hospital Research Award
​2015 ​American Thoracic Society, Distinguished Achievement Award 
​2016 ​Cover Page Photo, "Site of Fluid Secretion in Small Airways," AJRCMB
​2016 ​Living History Inductee, American Physiology Society 
​2017 ​Inaugural Paul M. Quinton Legacy Research Award, Cystic Fibrosis Research, Inc.
​2017 ​The Jacoby Angel Award, US Adult CF Association 
​2018 ​Hugh Davson Distinguished Lecture, Cell and Molecular Section American Physiology Society